Random Annoyances: BlackBerry App World Uninstall List

I’m no big fan of any app store no matter how well it’s stocked. As far as I’m concerned, it’s all a big scam to make you spend money on crap you don’t really need and I hate being forced to use an online delivery channel or some cloud rubbish to put apps on my own phone (I’m looking at you Apple).

Besides, if my mobile doesn’t do what I want it to do out of the box, then I have the wrong handset. As for the argument about how useful it is to have a choice selection of a gazillion different apps available, each slightly different than its neighbour, well I have better things to do with my mobile than sit there downloading a gazillion different apps, each slightly different than its neighbour. Things like making a call for example which people used to do back in ancient times.

Which leads me nicely onto the BlackBerry App World. On the very rare occasional where I’ve actually bothered to download something, it’s nearly always been deleted after 5 minutes of me snorting in derision and being thoroughly unimpressed. Only that it isn’t removed because RIM thinks it’s necessary to keep a history of everything you’ve uninstalled.

Yes, you read that correctly, a BlackBerry device will remember what you uninstalled just on the off-chance that you want to re-install whatever rubbish you decided to remove in the first place.

Why? Why?? I mean in the name of All That’s Holy, for God’s sake WHY?? What possible useful reason could there be to retain a list of everything you’ve uninstalled complete with re-install button just in case I change my mind. Does RIM think its users are all muppet’s who can’t make that decision themselves? You think I inadvertently loaded the App World, pressed the uninstall button, clicked through several prompts to confirm removal, watched the progress bar, and then responded to a further prompt to reboot the handset by mistake?

I don’t want to see a list of every trial app, beta version, 2-bit gaming title, whip crack, Angry Bird knock-off or other feeble stocking filler that I’ve tried over the course of my BlackBerry ownership, I bloody well KNOW what I tried and I damn well also know why I uninstalled it in the first place.

I’m a stickler for keeping a well ordered and tidy minimalist environment. I don’t like clutter or unnecessary crap lying around the place. And I sure as hell don’t want lists of useless information littering my handset either so message to RIM; please get rid of this useless App World uninstall list that remembers everything I DON’T want on my BlackBerry because if not, you can be sure I’ll remember to check other handsets when it comes to changing my moby.

One Response to Random Annoyances: BlackBerry App World Uninstall List

  1. […] like someone over at RIM heard my rant about the useless BlackBerry App World uninstall feature. The latest release of the App World, […]

Leave a Reply

